Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In modern-day society, the sugar consumption rate among the population is continuously increasing. Many believe that such a tendency is caused by excessive amounts of sugar contained in produced food and drinks. In order to reverse this trend as well as to avoid diseases related to sugar overindulgence, introducing higher prices on sugar -rich products is suggested. Nevertheless, I am of the opinion that increasing public awareness is a more efficient strategy. Without a doubt, a higher price range on certain sugary products might prevent individuals with limited finances from purchasing them. However, that would also increase prices on products, which are considered to be of absolute necessity, such as bread and pasta, as they contain sugar as well. This might result in individuals not being able to provide meals to their families. Furthermore, recent studies show that increased prices on goods do not have a large-scale effect. For instance, a markup on tobacco and alcohol did not show a decline in overall sales of these items. Hence, proving the inefficiency of this policy. By contrast, countries that implemented public awareness tactics have successfully resolved said issue. By organising conferences at workplaces as well as schools, the government ensures not only moderate and controlled sugar consumption but also encourages manufacturers to produce products with less amount of sugar. Thus, declining general sugar intake. Moreover, by creating labels that are clear and easy to interpret, corporations stimulate conscious sugar consumption decisions among consumers. Additionally, research conducted in Japan describes such regulations to be the most effective. To conclude, it is known that an increase in sugar consumption is directly correlated with products, which are rich in sugar. Although a markup on these types of foods and drinks limits sugar intake among the impoverished, its overall effectiveness is minimal and its drawbacks are crucial. Whereas, increasing public awareness, by informing the public about possible negative outcomes of excessive sugar consumption as well as simplifying labels on products, proved to be the most competent practice.