Many people believe that social networking sites have had a huge negative impact both on individuals and society. Extent do you agree?

Over the year, online social networking apps have become an indispensable part of everyone's lives. Some folks argue that it has adverse effects on individuals as well as on society. I certainly agree with this argument as I believe that it has significantly impacted the health of our youth and has also raised the crime rate in society. In this essay, I will try to elucidate my view with the help of lucid examples. Firstly, with the rise in the number of online networking sites, youngsters, these days are less inclined towards physical activities. For instance, adolescents prefer to spend their free time over mobiles and laptops watching videos or scrolling over the feeds on these online socialising websites. Due to this, they do not go out to play sports or for cycling. Consequently, the statistics suggest that these days more children's health is deteriorating and they are often falling sick because of spending excessive time online. Secondly, these networking platforms are also a major reason behind the increased crime rate. For example, social media frauds fool people by making friends with them. These imposters make their fake profiles over the apps like Facebook or Instagram, and then make connections and later convince innocent individuals to share their bank account details and loot them. Mostly women, kids and elderly personals, who are the most vulnerable section of society, fall prey to these social media criminals. To conclude, I would admit that although social media platforms have empowered people in various ways like staying connected with each other hassle-free and keeping abreast with the world news on fingertips, yet it has extremely severe downsides as described in the above paragraphs. We must all need to work towards reducing this by limiting our screen time and by becoming more responsible.