n many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects. Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages?

Tourism is one of the most impactful smokeless industries in the past century due to the amount of money it is able to generate. However, as many regions have started to experience the negative impacts, the benefits and drawbacks of this sector are being weighed against each other. From my perspective, tourism has done more harm than good for a number of areas and this essay will discuss the reasons for that. It is first essential to acknowledge that tourism has done wonders for many economies by boosting revenue and creating jobs for the locals. Especially for numerous cities which are designed solely for this type of business, tourists are the only source of income for the people and can make or break their livelihood. For example, there have been cases of villages in Thailand and the Philippines being saved by the sheer influx of foreign travellers. Furthermore, even for big capitals like Shanghai or Paris, the industry still generates millions of jobs for the citizens. The benefits of tourism are therefore undeniable. Nonetheless, the industry also destroys the environment due to the waste that it produces. For instance, every year, thousands of tons of carbon dioxide are being emitted into the atmosphere by aeroplanes while tons of rubbish are being disposed of by visitors. In the countryside, the lack of environmental awareness from the side of travellers has wreaked havoc on the natural resources, causing soil erosion and water pollution. Moreover, immoral and unsustainable travelling practices such as trophy hunting put a strain on endangered species and throw our ecology systems off balance. To exemplify, many African countries have to prohibit safari touristry and hunting due to the critical situation of numerous wild animals. In conclusion, tourism is detrimental to the environment because of the sheer amount of waste and pollution it has created. The repercussions of such an impact are so great that they even overshadow the economic gains which this industry has brought to countless regions.