Consumers are now faced with an increasing number of advertisements from competing companies. How are consumers affected by advertisements? How can the government help protect consumers?

It is true that customers nowadays are encountering the inundation of commercials from competing brands. In my opinion, consumers have been adversely impacted by the increasingly ubiquitous appearance of adverts, some viable solutions that can be adopted to mitigate these potential problems will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, the omnipresence of commercials of many products has some adverse impacts on buyers. Firstly, because almost every company wants to attract many prospective purchasers in order to maximize their sales and profits, advertising usually exaggerates the functions and quality of products. Many customers, as a result, tend to buy products of poorer quality, which would make them have a negative attitude towards advertising in general. Secondly, the cost of advertising is often exorbitant, which can contribute to an increase in the price of products. For example, it is costly to broadcast a commercial on television, so consumers would have to pay more money for the same items. In fact, this spending exponentially outnumbers the actual value of products or services. However, there are some possible measures that governments need to take actions to protect consumers. The first measure is that it is necessary for governments to impose strict censorship on commercials. For instance, advertisements with exaggerated and false claims should be banned, which would prevent buyers from being exposed to unreliable adverts. Secondly, officials need to limit the advertising activities of enterprises on television or the Internet and encourage these companies to introduce their goods at a low price in outdoor events or village fairs. In that way, customers can easily approach these goods and services safely and decide which brand they will use in the long run. Finally, governments should apply standardized prices for the same products of all brands, which would still maintain the competitiveness among companies, but purchasers will not have to pay for promotion costs. In conclusion, there are some negative consequences of advertising, and some appropriate steps need to be taken to tackle these problems.