Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and effects?

It is true that nowadays people tend to spend more time at their work. In this essay, I intend to explore the sources of this problem along with some effects. There are two main reasons why people allocate more time for working than before. The main issue is that an overcrowded population creates a competitive job market. Therefore, few people now have a steady job, and they are willing to accept a heavy workload because they fear they may be made redundant. Secondly, many people are working longer in order to boost their pay through overtime working. Along with the development of the economy and society, living standards are also increasing every day. Thus, overtime pay can help them to meet their living needs and satisfy their material desires. The harmful effects on health and personal life are serious. First of all, overworking is detrimental to health. Most workers spend the majority of a day sitting at a desk, which easily results in back pain or spinal injuries and an increased risk of strokes. Working long hours results in physical fatigue and may also lead to mental health problems such as depression or anxiety. In terms of personal life, the more time that is spent working, the less there is for family or friends, which can weaken the bond between family and friends. In conclusion, it is clear that there are several reasons that explain this current trend, it is also clear that consequences may have a negative impact on human health and relationships.