In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In certain countries, working or travelling before pursuing university studies has gain increasing popularity among young adults after the completion of high school. This essay will discuss both merits and demerits of this trend. Students who follow such a trend can gain valuable work or life experience which could proper further studies and employment. Since the public might have a recognition that students who directly passed to study in college have a tendency to restrict their knowledge and understanding of the world. By contrast, those teenagers spending a year to work or travel to other places have a broader view of life and better personal resources to draw on. For instance, young adults can have an excellent opportunity to interact with different walks of life during this time. Such experience can teach them to overcome inevitable challenges they are supposed to face in later career life. Moreover, they have a tendency to be more independent. To be specific, young people might tackle certain troublesome life situations, thereby fostering ranges of abilities. These skills can be very important factors in academic studies, such as doing research, carrying out an experiment and writing a report. On the other hand, the one-year gap might break the rhythm of studies and then have some negative impacts on a future occupation. In other words, students may end up never returning the school or finding it difficult to readapt academic environment. Since some of them may find it meaningful and interesting to earn a living or enjoy travelling. Eventually, they tend to give low priority and importance to studies. Unfortunately, this thought will hurt their career lives. However, in such a fierce competition context, without good academic qualifications, it's impossible to find a decent job to build your own career empire. Therefore, taking a gap year can seriously affect a student who keens to look for a proper career path. To conclude, there are both advantages and drawbacks of a one-year gap to find a job or take a trip. It's conducive for young adults who can resume their studies with renewed vigour after a break. On the contrary, It can be detrimental for those who fail to continue university studies.