Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

These days, a multitude of museums and historical sites seem to be more appealing to tourists, rather than local inhabitants. My essay will shed light on an array of reasons behind this phenomenon and several solutions that should be adopted by governments and local authorities to remedy the situation. There are two primary causes of the dwindling number of locals visiting historical relics. Firstly, regional museums and historical places fail to arouse interest from indigenous people. While these places offer tourists a good grasp of local history, native people hold a firm belief that they already have a profound insight into their own cultural traditions and historical inheritance. Therefore, they tend to pay a visit to other places outside of their home country to dig deeper into novel cultures. Equally important, museums in some areas deteriorate and become old-fashioned while local residents need to pay a high entrance fee to access such spots. Therefore, it seems to be an uphill task for them to enjoy exploring their past further, especially those living on the breadline. Fortunately, there are a host of viable solutions to capture more interest from native inhabitants. First and foremost, it is advisable for governments to waive the admission fee or provide special promotions. Hence, this will encourage people to get involved in discovering their history and stimulate their excitement. Moreover, local authorities should take refurbishing museums and historical places into consideration by erecting playgrounds or food courts to drum up more heed from people of all ages. Additionally, the government can launch public campaigns to raise people ’s awareness of the magnitude of regional historical relics. If this is done, they may nurture locals’ interest in museums and ancient spots. In conclusion, there is little room for doubt that this tendency could be caused by various factors. To tackle these problems, appropriate steps need to be taken not only by the government but also by local authorities.