Many people in today's society enjoy watching movies or TV programs about crime. What makes them so appealing to people? What is the impact of this on individuals and the society?

Recently, the number of TV programs about crimes has been increasing, and the public finds it interesting in them. This essay addresses the reasons why TV programs of crimes are attractive to people and the implication on society. The major reason why TV programs featuring crimes gain popularity is that they are enjoyable as entertainment materials. Since these programs are non-fiction and built based on the stories happening in real life, they give more thrills to the viewers. Furthermore, TV programs provide opportunities for learning about crimes for the public. The audiences are able to acquire knowledge of the reasons why criminals get involved in incidents and methods to defend themselves. This is well exemplified by Japanese TV programs on stalkers. The program that professional cops and psychologists catch the stalkers have become popular these days. The background description helps deepen understanding of this crime and the methods to prevent it for the young generation. These TV programs have an impact by increasing the viewers ' sense of caution. Programs play a role in alerting the audience, which raises the viewers ' awareness of crimes. For example, with the increase in the number of victims of scams, TV programs on scams were frequently broadcasted in Japan. Due to the increased chance to know the cases by TV, the number of cases declined. Thus, the individuals will be precautious consciously. In conclusion, TV programs on crimes are popular because watching real stories are amusing and they give chances to learn about crimes. They have an impact on society by improving the viewers ' awareness.