Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Processed food products are spreading like wildfires nowadays, which created people growing health concerns. Several individuals deem that sugary meals and beverages are responsible for persistent diseases, as a result of which higher prices should be imposed on those products in order to discourage consumption. I strongly disbelieve this notion. The essay will throw some light on the flaws of the concept. To commence with, a price hike will never be an effective solution if the goal is to encourage healthier habits despite eating sugary products. The affluent section of society will always pay more to seek what they desire. Moreover, it is a well-known fact that food contains addictive substances henceforth this view would have a little behavioural impact. For example, research conducted by the University of California revealed that more than 60% of people are purchasing those items per week despite having a high tax on sugar content. Demotivating the mass from acquiring those things by increasing the valuation will not be able to satisfy the goal. Another point to weakening this perspective is that maximizing the expense on additional sweeteners will have a marginal influence especially on the persons who are aware of its adverse impact. Ignorant people will keep on obtaining those food items as they used to do. Government can launch an awareness camp regarding their negative impression and how it is damaging our health condition, for instance. Thereafter, knowing the benefits of avoiding sugary elements from daily calorie intake could improve people’s mindset and tweak their poor habits of diet preferences. To recapitulate, the price rise will not abolish the root causes of people’s inclination towards sugar-loaded meals. We have to come up with fruitful alternatives, otherwise inhibiting them from continuous consumption will never be a successful operation.