In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

These days, success is one of the essential factors associated with everyone’s life satisfaction. It is believed that, regularly, telling children to make an effort in order to achieve in their life. In my perspective, this viewpoint gives both benefits and drawbacks which will be discussed in the following paragraph. On the one hand, it is beneficial for children's learning process when adults tell their children that the harder they work, the greater success will come. One of the advantages is that children will learn how to succeed in life. In other words, they will know that in order to achieve something they can not just sit there and wait, but they have to push themselves. Moreover, it helps build up confidence for children as well as prepare them for real- life when they grow up. By encouraging and pushing them to try, they will be confident in themselves and be strong when they have to work hard for something. On the other hand, there are also some disadvantages as they say everything has a two-edged sword. This may lead to the false belief in children that only effort can make them succeed. That is to say, in reality, sometimes working hard alone might not bring success to one ’s life. For instance, Beethoven, one of the most successful music composers in the world, did not achieve in his career only he practised the piano every day, but because he was born gifted, sending him to be a music expert. To conclude, children are like clean water that never be contaminated. So, it is important to teach them how to be successful in life.