Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether the governments should concentrate to improve the railways rather than the roads. Personally, I disagree with this argument and I firmly believe that priority should be given to the roads. The primary reason we have to take into consideration is that the amount of using the highway is much higher than the railways. Consequently, the routes need more money to be renewing and keep the standards quality. In addition, insufficient quality of them can cause many dangerous car accidents. For instance, in Iran, the proportion of death in road accidents is in the next place just after death due to cardiovascular diseases. Based on these, it could be concluded that by developing and maintaining the standards of the roads, each government will be able to save many lives and reduce the mortality rates. Another reason that is worth pointing out is that there is no doubt that the usage of railways is high as compare to drive lanes specifically in overcrowded areas, but I firmly believe that nowadays most people prefer to travel by their own cars instead of using the trains or subways. Based on that, improving the roadway will have a huge impact on the citizen's life. For example, parents who have infants tend to move between cities by their personal car because it is more convenient for them and their babies. To sum up, I would like to conclude that I completely disagree with the statement that the states should expend more money on rail lines instead of roads. As I mentioned in the essay there are many essential factors that prove that the government should be focused on streets more than the railways.