Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. Some people think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

In the last few years, the debate regarding plastic bags has been raised. Some people suggest that such shopping bags should be banned. However, some other people believe that this measure will not be enough to tackle pollution. I believe that banning plastic bags is effectively reduce the pollution, nevertheless we need other measures to be implemented also. On one hand, plastic items are harmful to our environment. It is not dissolved over time. As a consequence, it stays and harms sea creatures. For example, several sea animals have been found dead as a result of plastic pollution. So it is essential to have a policy that prevents the public from using plastic items. This definitely will reduce the problem. Furthermore, it is better to produce and sell environmental-friendly products. Those products can help people to strictly comply with the new policy without compromising their life practices. on the other hand, preventing the community from using plastic items is not an effective measure, if other harmful practices continue, such as poor waste management, fossil foils burning and oil escaping to rivers and oceans. The first step in reducing pollution should be toward the factories, oil companies and waste management facilities. Then, toward the plastic items. In conclusion, plastic products are harmful to our society and must be banned. However, finding an alternative is detrimental. Such alternatives should be practical and cost-effective. Although some public believe that such a measure is not enough to overcome the problem and we should start to tackle the pollution that coming from factories and oil companies.