Overpopulation is the world's most serious environmental problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One of the largest issues all over the world nowadays is the concern towards the environment. While some argue that overpopulation gives the most serious impact on the environment, I personally do not think that overpopulation affects nature on its own, but rather the way in which human beings choose to live in their life brings several drawbacks against the greens. Turning to the transportation that is deeply entwining with our daily activities, overuse of cars are obviously harmful to the environment due to exhaust fumes that will result in deforestation. The problem of this is not that people use automobiles frequently, but the fundamental issue is the fact that people opt for vehicles even they have an alternative method for a commune that is more eco-friendly to the environment. For example, one of the cities in Chiba in Japan introduced a free-cycling station taking into account the environmental concerns. However the scheme was not well prevailed among the population since they prefer to use cars for their convenient reasons. This clearly reflects the truth that people are likely to be prone to choose an easier way for their own sake. Furthermore, in terms of environmental problems, economic system factors are a more serious problem than overpopulation. To be clear, even there are a few populations or decrease trends in one’s country, dependency on industrial activities for its economy harms the environment. For instance, the Japanese population has been gradually decreasing over the two decades, but on the other hand, the environmental issue has not yet been resolved. One of the main reasons for this is because the Japanese economy is heavily relying on manufacturing and industry. As long as people require more and more in terms of quantity and quality, factories would continue to run with exhaust fumes for 24 hours 365 days. This example as well clearly demonstrates that humankind’s inherent traits for better life create issues against nature. In conclusion, I do not agree with the view that overpopulation is the most critical reason for the environmental issue. The problem comes from the way of living by humans.