With the increased global demand for oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

With the rising need for fossil fuels, some people argue that untouched lands across the Earth should be investigated for more non-renewable energy resources. This essay strongly disagrees with this statement. I believe that these explorations will harm the wildlife of those regions and result in our doomed dependence on these energy resources. Firstly, by opening new sites for mining fossil fuels we will disturb intact ecosystems of that place and put species in danger of extinction. Operations of this scale require a huge human resource to operate on the location and hence oil and gas corporations need to discover new towns and cities nearby, leading to the destruction of vast lands that were once filled with nourishment for the animals and plants. Furthermore, the unpreparedness of the area’s fauna for mass immigration of humans may cause major damage to species living there. For example, before our ancestors moved to Australia, there were more than 50 variants of kangaroos. However, years after tribes moved to Australia, there were only 4 types of kangaroos remaining in Australia. This was because the land was devoid of humans and animals were affected by the impact of a new dominant species’ arrival. Secondly, having exploited fossil fuels from undeveloped areas, citizens can grow their dependency on these sources and forget about renewable energies. Not only by finding new fossil reserves are we going to increase greenhouse gases, which are the main catalyst for problems such as global warming and cancer, but it also decreases the demand for creativity in the scenario of a fuel shortage in the upcoming future, making us helpless in these situations. For instance, most countries worldwide acquire less than half of their energy from alternative sources, which may not be sufficient in the case of wars in which one provider country may put consumer countries under sanctions. As we have seen in the past few years, this has already happened during the Russo-Ukrainian war and caused some shortages in Europe. In conclusion, while we still have a high demand for traditional energy resources, I think that we have no need to exploit new lands for these sources and should build our platforms on new types of energy resources to overcome our fragile dependence on oil and gas and coal, and to save our remaining virgin nature.