Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people argue that these days folks are more interested in enjoying the festivities rather than understanding the history and importance of a particular occasion. I disagree with this statement, although people enjoy during the festivals, they have not completely forgotten the significance and history behind them. To begin with, almost every festival has its own traditional rituals which are performed by the members of the community. And most of these traditions are made with aim of bringing enjoyment to the person. For instance, exchanging gifts is an important part of Christmas which makes this holiday enjoyable for the celebrators. On the other hand, the community are still aware of the significance of the particular festival holiday. In the families, parents and grandparents tell children stories about each festival and these stories are passed to the future generations. In conclusion, people are still aware of the meaning of the particular festival.