In some areas of the US, a curfew is imposed. What is your opinion about this?

The majority of people believe that social networking sites are creating a huge negative impact on individuals and society. This essay would discuss on the issues being caused while using social media and how it can be utilized for the betterment of society. Firstly, every individual has easily found a way to access the internet, eventually making their way to social networking sites. The social media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram have very innovative ways of attracting people and not imposing any sort of age restriction to use the platform. The recent survey conducted in Washington, DC declares that 40% of overall population use social media almost every day on an average of 3 to 4 hours and this indeed is causing health-related issues such as people started getting depressed comparing their life with others on social media seeing their vacation pictures and achievement posts. Also using social media at night in darkness is heavily causing sleep disorders. In the society, people started considering themselves worthful only if they have more friend requests on Facebook than in real life. Considering all this points social media is likely causing a negative impact on most of our lives. Secondly, social media websites can also be beneficial if they are used in an appropriate way for good causes such as during COVID time many celebrities have come forward through live streams to share awareness and explain the precautions to be taken. Hence if used appropriately social media can be made a platform for sharing more meaningful information for mankind. This essay has discussed on both positive and negative impacts, and I would say definitely social media is causing negative impact but we as an individual should know the risks and take precaution to prevent these platforms from affecting our lives.