Today different types of robots are being developed which can serve as companions and workers to help at work and at home. Is this a positive or negative development?

In today's society, the robotics industry is rapidly developing, penetrating its technologies into workplaces and homes. This trend has a number of benefits for businesses and drawbacks for individuals. In my opinion, the development of robotics will detrimentally affect society in the long run. Proponents of these innovations believe that robots can eradicate inefficiencies. This applies to both, homes and workplaces. For example, companies can use robots to make them do various manual tasks that don't have unexpected situations. This will help to decrease the price of goods and services. In houses, robots can do the cleaning and washing dishes, if so, individuals would have more time to spend on their hobbies and other activities. Nonetheless, the development of robots can lead to grievous consequences. More integration of AI (Artificial Intelligence) in the workplace means that more people will have to quit their jobs. This in turn will cause the development of unemployment and poverty. Additionally, the development of robots will result in human isolation. Nowadays, people are seemingly more connected with each other compared to several decades ago, all thanks to the internet. However, personal interaction is declining. I believe that robots will escalate the process of human isolation. For instance, in Japan people can buy robots to communicate and have them as their friends. To conclude, the development of robotic technologies can reduce inefficiencies in the workplace and home, giving space for people to spend a more enjoyable time. Even so, I am convinced that it will have a negative impact on personal relations and quality of life.