Some people believe that people who read books can develop more imagination and language skills than those who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that reading books play a positive role for individuals to develop more imagination and language skills than TV programs. To my way of thinking, to some extent, I agree that reading books has an impact on imagination, but I would also argue that reading has lots of shortcomings. To be more specific, since human beings are created in this galaxy, there are various words from different parts of worldwide, like China, Egypt and other old civilizations. Those records exsit for generations to generations, people could have an imitate touch through those reliable words to expand horizons and enlarge imagination about the whole history. Otherwise, although watching TV could catch the excellent scenarios, with the whisper sounds and voice, those artefacts might be counterfeit and betray the real history. Yet, it does not automatically mean that reading is functional for all people to develop language skills. In other words, it is hard for a primary school student to grip the meaning of much more profound books, like Post-Philosophy Era and other masterpieces, it is highly likely for those students to misunderstand the real meaning of a word. By contrast, TV programs for those children with various themes are able to develop the language skills for them. In conclusion, it is true that reading has lots of benefits, but also has few drawbacks. People could promote more imagination and language skills by combining those two functional parts, reading books and watching TV programs.