Too much attention is paid to and too much money is spent on keeping pets, while people throughout the world are starving. Discuss the arguments for and against keeping pets. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, the number of people struggling from starvation are rising. In fact, the issue is getting worse against the background of local wars taking place in Afghanistan, Lebanon and Syria. Because of that, the argument that people waste money on keeping pets instead of helping those who are suffering from starvation has both been refuted and supported by many. In this essay, we will discuss both views with concrete examples. First, pet lovers believe that animals help to be healthy. For example, pet owners wake up early and go for a walk with their pets, and it is a workout for them. Furthermore, dogs and cats save people from mental diseases caused by loneliness. Recent research reveals that people who have pets live longer than others who do not have ones. So, animals are a displaced part of human beings. Second, many individuals argue that each other might support the poverty part of society instead of wasting money on pets. For instance, people buy food and medicines for their pets every day whereas these days lots of people do not have the means to eat. In addition, we observe many local wars via mass media where people are starving, and each person can transfer money from their budget allocated for keeping pets. In conclusion, both the proponents and the opponents of the argument that much means is wasted on keeping pets when some human beings are starving have strong points. Nevertheless, in my opinion, investing money in pets is extremely important for pet lovers, but there are also many ways of spending means on helping poor people that require some help from social members. It is, therefore, suggested that people should help others.