Many countries are encouraging the use of renewable energy sources instead of fossil fuels. Do the advantages of renewable energy sources outweigh the disadvantages?

Numerous nations are promoting the adoption of eco-friendly energy sources in place of non-renewable energy sources. In my opinion, I consider that eco-friendly energy sources can bring about more advantages compared to any problems they might bring. Despite the drawbacks below, I believe the benefits gained by countries using eco-friendly energy sources are extremely useful for their future. Firstly, when countries apply this technique, it will be environmentally friendly. That is because renewable energy reduces pollution, such as air pollution and greenhouse gas emissions, which can help combat climate change. For example, this technique has been used in Iceland in terms of geothermal and hydropower and as a result, this country has very low carbon emissions. Secondly, they have economic benefits. When countries use renewable energy projects, they will be able to create some new jobs for people in manufacturing, installation, and maintenance. This clearly can bring down the unemployment rate. Admittedly, there are some issues involved when numerous nations are promoting the adoption of eco-friendly energy sources in place of non-renewable energy sources. One problem is that it could impact wildlife. In other words, while the usage of wind turbines can harm birds and bats, hydroelectric power generated from dams may disrupt aquatic ecosystems. For instance, Brazil's hydropower dams have negatively impacted fish populations. Another negative aspect is that it has high initial costs because installing renewable energy systems requires significant investment, which can be a challenge for some countries, especially for countries that don’t have enough sources to apply this system. To sum up, being environmentally friendly and having economic benefits far outweigh any of the minor drawbacks that could result from the adoption of eco-friendly energy sources