An increasing number of developing countries are expanding tourist industries. Why is it the case? Is it a positive development.

A growing number of under-developed nations are enlarging their tourism sectors. This essay shall explore the reason for this phenomenon, along with explaining why I believe this to be an advantageous trend. The fundamental reason why developing nations pursue an enlargement of their tourism industries is, without doubt, to increase economic activity. Greater spending by both domestic and international tourists will help to spur the creation of more businesses by the local inhabitants, many of whom are financially impaired, and as a consequence, local and national GDP’s will grow. This is especially important for countries with few natural resource, and yet have historical or topographical places that may be of interest to tourist. The knock-on effect on economic sectors such as entertainment, transportation, and accommodation can thus be immensely beneficial. These benefits can have such a powerful and positive impact on the lives the local inhabitants that this trend can only be thought of as being overwhelmingly beneficial. Despite the most notable disadvantage of increasing tourist business, that of environmental degradation, it stands to reason that the improvement of people’s financial situation should take precedence over all else. The recent health scare, for example, lays testament to the life-giving power of economic activity, where many poor people in developing countries who depended on tourism for their livelihood, have now been forced to cease any type of business connected to the tourism industry, and as such, have slipped further into adject poverty. In conclusion, it is without doubt that the central reason for developing countries to expand tourism industry is because of the need to increase economic activity. It is clear, in my opinion, that this absolutely constitutes as being fundamentally positive, even though the environment may be negatively impacted.