In some countries, young people often decide to work or travel for a time before they start their university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of doing this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In some nations, it is common to find that youngsters prefer to work or travel for some time before starting their university education. There are various pros and cons of this trend that will be discussed in the following paragraphs along with relevant examples. There are numerous benefits of travelling. It helps individuals to broaden their perspective, meet new people and experience new cultures. Especially at a time when an individual has to make a life-changing decision such as which college to join or which course to choose, it is worth exploring the outside world before settling for something. Similarly, getting some hands-on experience before starting the university helps youngsters get a realistic picture of the work they will be doing post theirs under graduation. For example, a friend of mine was very fascinated with sales and marketing and he was fortunate enough to get an opportunity to work in the same role before college. The experience, however, changed his mind and he ended up picking computer science instead. On the flip side, there are some disadvantages associated with the approach. Youngsters can lose precious time in exploring especially in cases where they could not find anything worthwhile. Moreover, the kind of work people get might not be the accurate representation of work they would have got post their undergrad. For instance, it is difficult for an individual to experience what a doctor does without any formal training. To conclude, working or travelling before university has its own set of advantages and disadvantages. Some of these have been discussed above.