Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

People have different views as to whether an increasing number of individuals with health issues are attempting new methods of medications and treatments rather than visiting their regular doctor. In my opinion, despite there are various benefits to this approach, I firmly believe that it brings about many more drawbacks. On the one hand, there are three main reasons why this perspective should be considered as a postitive enhancement. Firstly, it preserves traditional knowledge. For instance, some traditional cures have been used for a century and many patients report positive experiences with treatments such as backache and headache. Secondly, it is the right of humans to choose what is best for them as some people could only afford local treatments due to their financial issues or they just believe in cultural practice. Lastly, they might live in rural area where it is difficult to travel or with limited accessibility, encouraging them to use a service of alternative treatments. On the other hand, there are two essential reasons why this trending is a negative improvement. Firstly, those alternative choices have not been test scientifically. To elaborate, instead of curing patients from serious diseases or viruses, it may cause a downside effect on patients' health. Another point to be made is that it would delay an efficient healing progress. To illustrate, some symptoms might be cured by doctors, such has stroke or heart attack, if they do not waste time with a method. In conclusion, although there are several advantages of alternative medicines and treatments, I genuinely believe that it leads to more of negative development.