Handwriting today is less formal than it was in the past. What are the causes of this change? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary world, the popularity of handwriting has been on a continuous decline as opposed to its heyday back in the 1900s when there was no alternative. It is my contention that the advancements accomplished in the field of technology have caused people to switch towards sending online emails and using instant message tools to communicate, therefore, completely substituting handwriting as a method of communication which I believe is a multifaceted phenomenon with both positive and negative implications. First and foremost, handwriting is an important breakthrough that has revolutionized the way humans communicate. Its popularity is still active in schools, hospitals, and some government agencies to send official letters to the citizens. However, as we live on the edge of technology, digitalization of written communication is being rigorously developed in order to replace this old method which is slow and not limited in inclusivity. For example, with the help of instant messaging applications, people can send personal messages, videos and voice recordings in a matter of seconds to someone who is located in the farthest part of the world. In comparison with letters written by hand, digitalized solutions cannot be interrupted or lost during the process which puts them one step ahead of the race. Now that we have super-fast communication tools and technologies, the most critical cases can easily be overcome, thus, showing a prompt reaction to the thousands of emergency cases all across the world. On the other hand, there are some areas where handwriting is still active and it is unlikely to be changed any time soon due to certain environmental requisites, especially in schools. Handwriting is perceived as one of the pragmatic methods of studying by juveniles at schools, helping them to memorize and conceptualize the most challenging formulas and equations in math and physics. Furthermore, another area where letters written by humans are still being employed is governments. A majority of government agencies opt for letters as an official way to notify residents and other governing powers. In conclusion, the less formal nature of handwriting today can be attributed to the rise of technology. While some may argue that it is a negative development, as it may lead to a decline in handwriting skills and a loss of a traditional form of communication, others may view it as a positive development, citing the convenience and efficiency of digital communication.