Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air pollution. Others think there are more effective ways to do this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued by some that creating an international holiday to incentive the no-use of cars would reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Others claim there are other ways to mitigate this problem. The paragraphs below will outline both point of views and expose why I think that creating a car-free day would not diminish air pollution. There are two main reasons why part of society believe that do not using cars for a day would help to reduce pollutants. One of which is that fuel used in their motors, whether is alcohol fuel or gasoline, after combustion produces harmful volatile carbon gases which are released at the atmosphere. Another reason is that since industrial revolution and car invention, air pollution has risen, thus, it is reasonable to believe that stopping its usage would decrease carbon derivatives production and, consequently, reduce purify the enrironment. In stark contrast, there are others attitudes that could be practiced that would undoubtedly be more effective in controlling atmosphere pollution. First of all, boycotting animal meat enterprises due to the fact that cattle, swine and even fish breeding farms are responsible for the majority of methane annualy produced globally. Secondly, using clothes which brands work with sustainability seal. This is because fashion industry are known to be the second most polluting market in the world, hence, encouraging green brands is more effective to diminish environment damage, including the air. To conclude, in my opinion, investing in an international day to not use auto-vehicles is, indeed, a positive action. Although, it is necessary an aggressive change in people's lifestyle and attitudes to effectively improve the gas emission at the atmosphere. Therefore, a car-free holiday, despite being creative and inspiring, is not as beneficial as stop eating animal flesh and using enviromentally friendly clothes.