Today food travels thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. Why? Is it a positive or negative trend?

It is true that customers are able to buy food produced far away from their home country. There are several reasons why imported food has become increasingly accessible. Firstly, the essential reason is globalization, resulting in the open trade environment, so that a variety of food are permitted to enter the foreign market. Therefore, aiming at broadening customer base, food producers are willing to sell their products abroad. Secondly, owing to the advancement of transportation industry, such as air transport, food can be delivered in an efficient way, preventing fresh food from being spoiled even though transported to places thousands of kilometers away. The trend of importing foreign food has both benefits and shortcomings. On one hand, this trend has positive effect on enriching people’s diet. Consumers have access to different kinds of non-local food, especially those unable to grow domestically. Cultivated in certain region where has most suitable climate and soil, some imported food contains the highest value of nutrition, contributing to healthy diet. On the other hand, some negative impacts on local farmers result from numerous imported food. Customers tend to purchase foreign food because they regard that some non-local farm can produce food of higher quality. As a result, local farmers, who produce the same goods, lose a certain number of customers. Some of them are forced to compete with foreign producers by reducing price, leading to the decrease in profit. To sum up, it is common that food can travel and be sold abroad. Generally, although this phenomenon has positive and negative effects, the merits of it outweigh the disadvantages, that is, consumers have diverse choice in food.