Prisons are an expensive way of making bad people worse’ To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It's believed many that, jails are a waste of money and are only useful for making criminals worse. This essay completely agrees with the given statement because there are various facilities available to them and bad influences. To begin with, sometimes prisons become a place where an underprivileged person, who don't even have a place to stay or food to eat, can fill their stomach and have a roof on their head. They see lookups as a site to spend a night and eat food without paying a single dime. For example, a recent survey conducted by "ABP NEWS" shows that 40% of small-time criminals in prison indulge in criminal activity so that they can have some food, either by stealing some money or by getting caught. As a result, they don't even try to live a crime-free life. Moreover, You can never hope that someone would come out of a area filled with mud without getting dirty. Similarly, lock up is a hole filled with the worst kinds of scums, so a criminal walking in there will only become more like them. For instance, let's talk about a very famous incident where "Aman" was wrongly accused of a crime and was sent to jail. It took 2 years to prove his innocence, but the time he spent inside completely changed him, while living with the real culprit he was forced to become one himself. A place that was supposed to improve wrongdoers, converted an innocent man and made him an offender. To conclude, I agree that holding cells are just for show, all they do is make felons worse because people have stopped improving their living conditions.