The increase in the production of consumer goods (food, clothing) results in damage to the natural environment. What is the cause of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The more and more production of consumer goods (food, clothing) results in damage to the natural environment. It is the result of the exploitation of natural resources without any consideration of the environmental impact and the company discharges its waste directly into the environment. Hence, it is necessary for the government to supervise the company and strengthen the environmental regulations and use of advanced technology in their production process. A lot of companies tend to explore raw materials from nature as much as possible to gain more benefits to fulfil the production target. This impacts the surrounding environment such as degradation of soil quality, deforestation and a decrease in the quality of the air. Another thing is the companies discharge their waste and emit pollutants into the atmosphere without processing it first. This case can be found in many areas in Indonesia, such as Jakarta, where many factories emit their emission into the atmosphere which puts Jakarta as one of the cities with the worst air quality in the world. Based on the above problems, there are several things that can be done by all of the parties. Firstly, the government should supervise the business activities of the company and ensure such activities always comply with the regulations. The authorities body should monitor the implementation of the environmental regulations and encourage the company to comply with them. Secondly, the use of advanced technology which produces less emission and waste will significantly reduce the negative impact of such business activity on the surrounding area. Furthermore, Factories should process their waste before discharge to the atmosphere and ensure the quality meets the limitations of the regulations. To summarise, the increase in production activity surely brings a negative impact on the environment but the involvement of the authority and good willingness of the businessmen can reduce the negative impact on the environment.