In the modern world it is no longer necessary to use animals for food, clothing or medicine. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include examples from your own experience.

Animal cruelty has been a debatable topic. Some believe that they should not be exploited in the modern era for producing medicines, and alternate protein substitutes are available to replace their nutritional value. However, this essay will mention why their usage cannot be stopped entirely as globally, a substantial portion of the population still rely on animal husbandry to make ends meet, and the food supplements replacing them are either expensive or not widely available. To begin with, certain creatures should not be exploited anymore for the creation of drugs as alternate methods of producing them are available nowadays. Likewise, killing them for our protein requirements can further be avoided as nutrient supplements are now present in the market. In the past, snake poison was used for the creation of a sedative aimed at relieving pain. However, nowadays with the advent of antibiotics, we do not have to do that anymore. Alternatives to chicken and meat are available in the form of soy protein that a person can consume. For example, in India there are a number of painkillers and protein supplements available now that completely eliminates the need for our dependency on animals. Therefore, people who believe that such creatures need not be exploited anymore do have a valid point. Nevertheless, many people globally are still dependent on animal husbandry for their bread and butter. Moreover, the food substitutes to them are still not widely available and can be expensive. Population in the rural areas breed livestock and sell animal products to make a living for themselves. Furthermore, soy protein is not readily found in smaller towns and even if it is available, many people would not be able to afford it. To illustrate, my cousin brother staying in a remote village still relies on poultry and cattle to make an earning for his family. Hence, I strongly believe that we cannot eliminate entirely the need of certain species for our requirement of food, medicine or clothing. To conclude, cattle being subjected to exploitation is a debatable topic. In the modern era, we have different options that provide us with the same nutritional or medicinal value and therefore, it reduces our reliance on animals to a wide extent. However, they cost a fortune and animal husbandry is still a widely practiced profession in many parts of the world. So, in my view, completely replacing these creatures is not viable.