Some people think the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel,To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, the effect that humanity is having on the environment is becoming ever-more important, and it is endangering the lives of future generations. Some argue that increasing the prices of fuel is the best solution. However, I believe this solution may work out in a way, but it is not the best and effective solution. When speaking of environmental problems, air pollution is considered to be the major and the most serious issue remained to be solved. Most countries with rapid increases in their level of urbanization are also nations with an increasing number of vehicles on streets. Because the size of cities is expanding, and the vehicles on streets are increasing with population as well. The air pollutants mainly come from the greenhouse gases that given out by vehicles, and the vehicle’s level of toxic gases emissions is linked to the amount of fuel consumed. If the fuel price becomes higher in the future, then people may be less likely to go out by vehicles. Thus, the emission of air pollutants will reduce. Nevertheless, it can just alleviate the environmental problem in a way. The causes of global environmental problems are various. For instance, the ocean pollution, the plastic pollution and climate change. Moreover, the absence of effective and representative government exacerbates the environmental problems. Therefore, the government should raise the awareness of environmental protection of the citizens, which could help solve the problem at its root. Besides, the government should encourage citizens to use public transportation or eco-friendly vehicles. By doing this, I believe the problem could be solved effectively. To conclude, I agree that increasing the cost of fuel could help alleviating the situation, since the air pollutants come from vehicles are likely to reduce. Still the government plays an essential role by raising the awareness of citizens about environmental problems. With the two solutions combining, I believe the whole environmental problem could be minimized in the future.