Some people think competitions inside and outside of school are necessary for children to prepare for their future. Others think it's bad . Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Schools are the institutions that shape children's future. It is needless to say that ambience at schools have a great impact on each and every child. Some believe the competitive nature should be cherished at the school level, while others strongly disagree. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I belong to the latter group of people. A group of people feels that it is absolutely necessary to promote competitions at schools. According to them, competitions push a person to work harder and excel in his career, which is partly correct. In a survey conducted by Mcgill University, for example, it was found that rewarding students for achieving first place have boosted the energy and effort that pupils were putting in their endeavours. It is clear from this that if there were no racing for any achievement the zeal of the journey for doing better would have simply died. In my opinion, however, this is not the case always. Despite the aforementioned logic, many, including me, believe the competitive atmosphere in educational institutions often creates fear and anxiety  among children and adolescents. They argue that all children are special and all are born with some innate qualities which are to be found eventually. Even if they work hard, at times, the aimed position might remain unattainable due to misfortune or anything. That genuinely does not define a student as a failure. There is multiple evidence that failing in such competitions has compelled pupils to think less of themselves and their mental health got affected. An article published in The Hindu, for instance, have shown through a story of a teen who has locked herself in her room for 3 days as she could not face her parents after not getting the desired score. Such incidents point out clearly that rat-racing in reality promotes anxiety and stress instead of encouragement to hard work. In conclusion, it is clear that some sort of encouragement is essential to push every learner to study harder. Competitions alone, however, are not the solution. Youngsters should be encouraged to study and excel in their careers in a healthier way than only rat-racing. Because success in life is far from just being the first in a class test.