Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. Why do they think so? What can be done to change their views?

Due to advancements in technology, air travel has become considerably cheap, as a result, more people are travelling to foreign countries. However, many residents hold the view that an increase in tourism is affecting their country negatively. This essay tends to discuss why some inhabitants have negative attitudes towards an increase in travelling and finally provide suggestions to change this view. There are several justifiable reasons why people think that international travel is a bad thing for their homeland. First and foremost, due to the massive influx of tourists, local people are relocated from their locality to provide more buildings for the tourism industry. Even coastal regions and urban areas are being developed to make enough spaces for tourists. Any development involves interference with nature thus contributing to negative impacts on the environment. For instance, in 2013 in Uttarakhand, India, there were several devastating landslides and flooding. Researchers came to the conclusion that it was a consequence of the soar in the number of travellers. Secondly, more humans in an area mean rapid depletion of natural resources and an increase in carbon footprints. Consequently affecting the sustainability of the country. Firstly, residents should be employed in the travel industry so that they can also benefit from it. If tourism becomes their source of income then they would no longer have any objections to it. Government should educate and encourage the public to welcome visitors. Government should also enlighten inhabitants with the fact that visitors can help in developing the country and in raising its economical status. Furthermore, it is an indisputable fact that exposure to cultural diversities helps to broaden a person's horizon. To conclude, it is legitimate for citizens to hold grudges for foreigners due to the above-mentioned reasons. Nevertheless, if they are informed about the positive impacts of tourism, I strongly believe that it should alleviate their resentment.