University students are increasingly studying abroad as a part of their studies. What is the main advantage and what is the main disadvantage? Which do you think is better? Studying abroad or not

Today, there is an upward trend for students who go abroad for higher education. As they choose this way, gaining experience in a foreign country and culture becomes eye-opening, while getting used to it makes them sometimes having a hard time. What I believe is despite all the hardships students can meet studying outside the country even for a while can be seen as a journey to one’s true self. The main advantage of studying in a foreign country is that person can experience a new culture and the way of living from zero. After they left their country, students may start to learn the complete opposite side of things done in another country which later on leads to get to know themselves more deeply as these people discover their unknown characteristics. For example, when my friend studied in Italy in spite of her introverted personality, she often found herself in a situation that pushed her to leave her shelf and being more open to the outside. This eventually helped her to be more comfortable with others. As can be seen, learning to live in a new country encourages people to do unusual but beneficial things for their future lives. From the other perspective, studying overseas can be quite difficult to adjust to the new environment. Also, if a person has a different race, some societies may not allow them to blend in. It is commonly believed that racism is still the case in other countries. Indeed, during the pandemic period Asian students got threats because of the belief that they have coronavirus. The significant obstacle for international students is the foreign people’s attitude toward them that is not controllable. To conclude, international students continue to study overseas for completing degrees from different countries. The main problem for people going through this, is the difficulty to adapt sometimes, however if they can, students may take advantage of living abroad as it is a lifelong experience. From my point of view, it is better to study abroad, even though foreign students can be marginalized.