Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is generally accepted that tourism is one of the biggest industries worldwide.It has grown by leaps and bounds especially during the last two decades.As the global citizens take the slightest of chance to visit uncharted territories,they contribute a tremendous amount of revenue for countries around the world.Notwithstanding its merits, tourism undoubtedly has its own side effects.At the front of all the demerits is the adverse impact on local culture and environment.I totally disagree this statement and in this essay, the valid arguements surrounding the issues of toursim will be put forward. First and foremost,the most prominent reason is that tourism is the main foreign outcome in some countries as the foreigners spend an enormous amount of money during their vacation.The governments and authorities even preserve a particular region just to enhance tourism.A good illustration for this would be Bagan in Myanmar,which is regarded as the ancient city of precious heritages and pagodas. Therefore, tourism provides ample motivation to conserve our age-old culture.Being bogged down by illusionary ghouls of cultural destruction and restricting those areas would be an utter waste of worthless infrastructure and money. What is more,as most of the tourist attractions are all open to visitors and tourists for observation,it would be debatable that they might somehow damage the valuable antiques. Nevertheless,if the historical places were prohibited from globe-trotters, preserving those areas would be downright meaningless.Just because the tourists might have left their own identity indeliberately in the places they had visited,it does not necessarily mean that they cause destruction or harm.In fact, it is just a part of modern cultural convergence where different traditions and customs are mixed.And, this is totally not the case since it has become incessantly ubiquitous in some fields,eg,international media. Therefore, it is pertinent to mention that tourism does not taint the local culture and environment, in fact, it fortifies them. To recapitulate,I am totally against the ideology that tourism causing damage to local cultures and environment is being ignored.It would not be an exaggeration to say that tourism is a godsent boon,especially for impoverished and penurious nations that encourage people to be themselves, while rewarding those who have valued and glorified their cultures in terms of much-needed capital.