International travel has many advantages to both travelers and the country visited. DO you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an apparent fact that international trip is of great benefit to tourists as well as the country they visit upon. Yet, to some extent, it causes some adverse effects on both travellers and the country. This essay will demonstrate how travelling overseas makes a great influence on travellers and the visited nation but will also show how this can result in such problems as severe pollution in some areas. While acknowledging the presence of drawbacks, the essay will argue that the merits it comes up with prevail its drawbacks. International travel benefits travellers in many aspects. One primary advantage of going overseas is that it broadens one's knowledge of the country visited, including culture, education, history, etc. As transportation is rapidly advancing, many nations are no longer geographically bound. Consequently, more and more people get the chance of head-on learning about a foreign land, which were mostly seen on the silver screen and other media. For instance, Vietnam, in international media, is usually regarded as a country of great poverty due to having been stricken by war multiple times and nothing else beyond that statement. Yet, it is proven to be false once visitors come to this nation and learn that Vietnam is a wonderful country with great traditions and great cuisine, many spectacular landmarks and the exciting lifestyle of a country progressively globalizing. Another asset of travelling abroad is that it can ease a traveller's conscience. Modern life has forced many people to keep pace with it. Many activities take place 24/7, and the workload seems to gradually pile up, thus many people are under the stress. By taking a trip to a foreign land, people can leave all the work behind, and embark on an exhilarating adventure with lots of unforgettable experiences await; therefore, they will feel restored, ready for taking on the work again. International travel also strongly boosts the economy of several countries. The principal merit that can be listed is the number of jobs the tourist industry creates for local people. The existence of many hotels, restaurants as well as other facilities provides employment for the residents. This could be exemplified through Thailand. Fishing villages once remained dominant in this country, but most of them are now replaced by luxurious holiday resorts. With everyone now having a job, the quality of life has massively improved. The economic boost on local communities also has an immense impact on the national income, thanks to tourism. However, international travel, by the same token, has done great harm to many areas. One major disadvantage of mass tourism is that a great number of tourist attractions are damaged. The constantly increasing influx of holidaymakers makes it hard to strictly control tourism activities. As a result, it goes without saying that a lot of tourists are unaware of preserving the landmarks. They just happen to throw the rubbish indiscriminately, carve their names on some of the relics, trees, statues... as a proof of their visit and even break some artefacts. Soon, those areas will no longer attract tourists and the region will see a dramatic turndown in profits unless the local communities take action immediately. In brief, international travel has opened up a new prospect to many people to learn about foreign countries. Furthermore, many countries have seen significant economic growth by taking full advantage of it, but travelling abroad also undermines the settings of many areas. From my perspective, I am high of the opinion that the benefits of international travel can compensate for its shortcomings.