In the past people wore their traditional clothes and followed their cultures. These days, most people wear similar clothes and therefore look very similar. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is said that the kind of clothes we wear define who we are. Nowadays, people are increasingly wearing clothes that make them look similar irrespective of the fact which part of the world they come from. This essay will provide evidence as to why it is a positive trend as it promotes a feeling of oneness among people, and the apparels become readily available and affordable irrespective of the geographic location that one stays in. To begin with, people wearing same costumes promote unity, and it develops a sense of belonging to society. It fosters oneness and encourages teamwork among people who otherwise might have individual preferences depending on the culture of the country that they come from. For example, multi-national organizations maintain a dress code for their employees irrespective of which country they belong to, and this in turn bridges their cultural differences helping them work together to achieve the company goals. Therefore, I believe that wearing similar costumes can unite people together, and it strives them to working towards a common goal. Similarly, when society dons a pattern of clothing that is universal, it becomes easily available everywhere and is priced reasonably. To illustrate, a pair of shirt and jeans can be bought from any corner of the world as it is an extremely common attire nowadays. On the contrary, someone staying in Africa and having a taste for a traditional Indian attire might struggle to find an apparel store catering to his needs. Moreover, even if that dress is available, it might cost him a fortune. Hence, in my opinion, having a homogenous pattern of dressing sense makes life easier for individuals in every corner of the world as the dresses are readily available, as well as affordable. To conclude, people are gradually giving up on their traditional attires that they used to wear a few decades ago. Nevertheless, I would maintain that it is a positive trend as a universal dressing pattern bridges the cultural differences fostering collaboration among people. Furthermore, similar looking apparels become easy to locate and afford for a common man coming from any part of the world.