In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It has been observed that people are living longer than ever before especially in wealthy nations. In this essay, I will discuss the possible challenges it might have not only on the individual, but on society as well, and propose possible solutions for how the effect of the ageing populations can be mitigated. While gaining a decade or more onto a person's life is wonderful, there are certain issues that might come along with it. Firstly, if an elderly person gets very sick or gets an illness such as Alzheimer's or diabetes then it might add financial and emotional strain on the individual as well as to their family members. They would have to rely on others to look after them. Also, if an individual retired at the age of 65 and live beyond 90 they might run out of money and will struggle to sustain their lifestyle. They are reliant on others for assistance. Certainly, senior citizens also have an impact on society. Government funds that would have gone to schooling or security would need to go to senior citizens. For example, last year in the UK, the government had added extra millions of pounds towards the pension fund for the elderly as there has been a big increase in pensioners. These funds could have gone to improving their general health care system, schools and homeless projects. Even though there are a number of challenges, there are also possible solutions. The main one would be is to increase the retiring age. Instead of people retiring at the age of 65, the government should implement a law stating that people can work longer if they are healthy. In addition, this would lead to more taxes being paid which would benefit the country. Another possible resolution would be is to educate the elderly citizens on how to take better care of their health. Instead of waiting for them to develop an, illness it would be recommended to try and prevent it. Government can ask health care practitioners to visit elderly people and teach them how to take better care of their health in their senior years, In conclusion, even though living longer is a positive aspect, it does come with its own challenges. Therefore, it is important to collaborate and implement strategies that will benefit elderly individuals as well as society.