International tourism has brought about enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Tourism is one of the booming industries of current time. International tourism gives people an opportunity to explore cultures worldwide and boosts the local economy. However, every coin has two sides, rampant number of tourists turning up every year disrupts the normal life at the tourist destination. Hence, the number of people visiting a place has to be controlled. Globalisation has led to an exponential rise in global tourism. Tourism has many advantages such as financial upliftment of the native people of the tourist destination. Arrival of visitors ensures that the local people get employment as drivers, room service, chefs,etc. Local artists making handicrafts, jewellery get a helping hand from foreign tourists. Such employment helps locals to satisfy their basic needs and save money for the future. For example, the Indian state of Rajasthan is famous for its Palaces and Bandhani cloth. When international tourists arrive they prefer to stay at the medieval palaces which have been renovated as hotels to experience the grandeur. These palaces employ local people in various services mentioned previously. People insist on buying the Bandhani clothes as a reminder of their journey to India which helps the women who prepare this Bandhani cloth. Despite these advantages, the concerns about disruption of local life and environment cannot be considered invalid. Large throngs of tourists arriving at tourist hotspots derails the regular life of the native inhabitants in unimaginable ways. The trends suggest that development of a place at tourist hotspot makes it dependant on one industry which makes it highly vulnerable. There have been many environmental hazards due to tourism which may lead to catastrophical events in the future. For instance, the Dal Lake of Jammu and Kashmir in India is now completeley polluted by the waste water from the shikaras. The owners of these shikaras primarily entertain tourists for a living. To conclude, international tourism should be allowed only to the extent that our decisions should not come to haunt us in the furure.