Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Since time immemorial, language has always been the medium of communication. Some debate that learning English is given more weight than teaching the vernacular dialect of the region. I firmly believe that learning English is highly important, but at the same time, due priority should be given to the local language as well. On the one hand, learning English is considered a universal language and is highly important. As we know, English helps with better opportunities, travelling, education, and helps to build advanced connections with other countries, especially at the workplace where the native language is English. For example, when there is a UN meeting or treaties signed by countries, the commonly used language is English. Additionally, nowadays, people tend to migrate to English -speaking countries to have career growth and a better life; hence, having command over English has become a part and parcel of life. On the contrary, while giving due attention to English, one should also make sure to teach the local dialect of the particular region. The local language of the place is directly connected to its ethnic roots and culture. It also gives a sense of pride, so equal importance should be given to the mother tongue of that particular region at school. Furthermore, learning an extra language is always an added advantage and keeps an individual creative. In this case, the government should formulate policies wherein local languages should be implemented as a compulsory subject in schools. Parents should also take the initiative to speak their mother tongue with their children at home. In conclusion, I would say that vernacular language should also be given equal emphasis alongside English, which will reduce the extinction of rare dialects and their heritage.