New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The development of new technologies have drastically changed the way children spend their free time. This fact has both advantages and disadvantages and in this essay, I will discuss both. In my opinion, I firmly believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages and that is because the emergence of these new technologies have had bad effects on the children's health and turned them into lazy sloth bears. To begin with, the arrival of these modern machineries have been beneficial for the little ones. Machines like, computers, laptops, tablets, i-phones provide an open window for these little ones to grasp more knowledge and broaden their horizons. In their free time they can read articles, books apart from their academic guides on computers, laptops and learn about geography, astronomy and other things. With the advancement of science they can socialise with kids from other countries and learn their cultures and languages. On the contrary, the development of these modern automations had an immense amount of bad effects on the kids's lives. For instance, in their spare hours they stay indoors playing video games instead of going out and participating in outdoor activities. As a result, young ones are falling prey to obesity and laziness at a very young age. According to some recent reports and studies in US heartproblems, obesity and other ailments have become common in teenagers now. To put it more simply, in the past teenagers used to be more active and their life expectancy rates used to be higher as they used to spend their spare hours playing outdoor games like, football, cricket and many different sports. To conclude, like the two sides of a coin there are both benefits and downfalls to the emergence of modern automations. As mentioned earlier in the essay, I hold the view that disadvantages of these contemporary machineries outweigh the advantages as they have awful effects on children's well-being.