Many University graduates cannot find a job in their chosen profesion. What factor may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion should be done about it?

It is often encouraged to obtain a University degree because this is thought to create a sense of job security. However, current statistics show that although one might have a degree they do not find jobs within their chosen profession. This problem arises from the lack of diversified courses offered by Universities and the older generation remaining employed for a longer period. Providing an array of courses and enforcing retirement laws will aid in resolving this issue. First and foremost, current University students are all indirectly obliged to study similar courses such as Law, Medicine and English. Even though they might have an interest in another subject these are not offered by many schools. For example, in Liberia, there is a shortage of Vets in the labour market. However, there is only one school currently offering a Bachelor’s degree in that field. Additionally, people are retiring at a later stage in their lives resulting in a shortage in the job market. As statistics show, in the mainstream jobs, Lawyers, and Doctors are mostly between the ages of 75 and 80. Therefore, in order to resolve this major problem faced by the young graduates, both the Government and the Universities have a role to play. Firstly, learning institutions need to provide other options outside of the mainstream courses. Many students are interested in performing art or aviation and not only Business administration and Law. Secondly, the Government needs to implement a scheme that would encourage current workers to retire sooner rather than later. My mother retired at the age of 55 years. This was only plausible because of the incentives provided at her job site. To conclude, many people complete a degree with the hope of being employed within their chosen field. This will only be possible if the space on the job market is created by the older generation giving way for the new to also practice what they have learned and for the Universities to make available more options to prospective students. Hence making it plausible to get jobs in areas where there is a shortage in the supply of workers.