Some people think that resources should be spent on protecting wild animals, while others think those would be better used for the human population. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although there are several justifiable reasons for the expenditure of resources to protect wild animals, some people argue that this money should be used for the betterment of humankind. The upcoming essay tends to discuss both perspectives and I will explain why I believe that funds should be spent on the protection of wildlife rather than for the benefits of humans. Species after species are becoming endangered due to our actions. First and foremost, safeguarding animals is necessary for maintaining ecological balance. If a certain type of species becomes extinct then the whole food web would be disrupted, consequently, our lives would also be affected. For instance, the loss of a secondary consumer would result in the decrease of the tertiary consumer which feeds on it due to less or no food. Secondly, the flora and fauna of a country help in attracting tourist attention. Thus helping the country to develop its tourism industry and raising its economical status. So, if resources are used for protecting wildlife, such as by building road signage and National Parks, it would be more beneficial. On the other hand, some people hold the view that if these resources are spent for building railways or improving transportation afterwards it would prove to be more advantageous. Undoubtedly, upgrading methods of transport would make commuting easier. Likewise, more railways would increase the chances of using public transport rather than using private vehicles. Hence reduce our carbon footprints and eventually ease global warming. Furthermore, if funds are used for public education subsequently impoverished children would get the opportunity to read and write. To conclude, both ways of spending funds are profitable but I strongly believe that saving animals would be more beneficial as it benefits not only the environment but also mankind.