A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the modern era, an individual's worth is often judged based on one's social standing and net worth, while other non-materialistic aspects such as humility and trust are seen to be non-essential. I personally reckon that this sentiment is true because people with such backgrounds continue to receive better treatment than others. Firstly, the reason why our worth is highly influenced by materialistic factors is because our world is becoming more capitalist. People nowadays are encouraged to work more and climb the corporate or institution ladder because those people tend to be rewarded more privileges. For example, a marketer who manages to sell a product more than their target will be granted a higher bonus than those who do not. While it is definitely justifiable and reasonable, such a policy only perceives humans merely based on how much they earn. Consequently, other factors such as hard work and honesty are dismissed as long as people can obtain a huge amount of money. Secondly, people who have inherent high social status are still perceived to be more noble even in the contemporary era. This particularly happens in countries with a history of monarchy, such as the United Kingdom. Many people think that the members of the royal family must be given more privileges than ordinary citizens. This is due to the contribution that the royal family made to the country's prosperity in the past. While many groups have opposed this notion by urging governments to eliminate those privileges, such a practice remains common. In conclusion, our society still places social status and wealth as important elements in determining one's value. I agree with this idea because people who make more money and come from certain social classes have been seen as more worthy than others, as shown by the privileges they get.