In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. What are the causes? How should these young criminals be punished?

Children are increasingly indulging themselves in a large number of crimes all over the world. This can be attributed to their parents not sensitizing them about the repercussions of a crime, as well as the fear of failure that forces them into committing different forms of misdeeds. Serious offences deserve a jail term whereas for the minor ones, the child should undergo psychotherapy treatment. To begin with, nowadays parents rarely make aware their children about the consequences of being involved in an offence. Moreover, due to peer pressure and fear of failure, adolescents are lured into breaking laws. Adults are not imparting moral values to their minors due to which a child is not able to distinguish between right and wrong. For example, a 10-year-old boy is found to be involved in the eve-teasing of girls as he has not been taught how to respect females by their previous generation. Similarly, due to intense competition, teenagers fear failing and try to find solace through some stress-relieving activity. To illustrate, globally many adolescents are consuming drugs as a last resort to escape from the hard realities of life. However, severe crimes committed by adolescents should be penalized with a jail term. On the other hand, for petty crimes it becomes essential that they undergo a psychological treatment. Unless serious offences are punished with a long-term imprisonment, there is a chance of the same being repeated by the offender. To illustrate, Saudi Arabia puts even its teenagers behind bars for any form of misdeed committed against females in order to set an example for others. Nonetheless, for a crime of minor nature, it becomes essential to find out the root cause that led to a child committing it. As an example, teenagers involved in non-serious misdeeds in Sweden undergo treatment at a rehabilitation centre. To conclude, juvenile offences are on the rise in every part of the world. The lack of sensitization against crimes by their parents and an increasing fear of failing to achieve something substantial in life are pushing the children into committing serious offences. Nonetheless, depending on the nature of an offence, the method to punish and contain them is twofold. The severe ones need a harsh punishment whereas those involved in mild lapses ought to be put under rehabilitation.