In some countries , the government promote public transportation and discourage the private vehicles what are the advantage and disadvantages?

It is true that the government of many countries had been supportive they populations for immune by public transit of instead private cars as many cities in the world are heavily congested. This essay will discuss what I consider the benefits and drawbacks of encouraging people to use transit services. The traffic problem is one of the most serious issues many huge cities around the world are facing. For example, in Bangkok it could take more than two hours during rush times to drive to a place located only five kilometres away, However, there are many advantages that governments can take to reduce traffic congestion. One of the approaches is to provide adequate public transports such as trains and buses, therefore people will become less dependent on their vehicles. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of promoting public transport. The biggest issue is the government have to allocate its immune budget to investment for the construction of new public transport. As a result, It is impossible that their populations have to pay higher taxes for transport consumption, making the public travel service more expensive. For instance, in the Shinkansen in Japan, train tickets are expensive, some people opt for a taxi or their individual car. To sum up, although it has become more benefits for communities that the government support the public transit, it has bought about some drawbacks.