Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree?

Since the mid-twentieth century, the autobahn or motorway has been a central element of the transport system in many counties. That is why some people suggest spending more money on it instead of mass transport. In my opinion, I cannot fully subscribe to this view, and I believe that both transport systems have their targeted areas and should therefore be developed together. Undoubtedly, road systems are playing an extremely vital role in modern life. A well-developed road system is not only the most convenient option for people to commute nowadays but also an essential prerequisite for industrial development. The highway network provides significant economic benefits to individuals and businesses throughout the whole country. Improved reliability, quality, and access of the highway network promote efficiency through industrial restructuring, adoption of new transport technologies, cost reductions, and changes in distribution or logistics patterns. Thus, a well-functioning highway network helps the nation maintain a globally competitive position. However, the development of public transport is also gradually threatening the dominance of the road system in the transport sector. For short commutes, public transport is cheaper and less affected by traffic jams than driving their vehicle, as even buses have their bus lane and thus do not need to share the same congested road with other vehicles. Moreover, it is more environmentally friendly since it cost less energy per person. Nevertheless, the motorway system remains irreplaceable for long journeys or logistics, especially for delivering large volumes of goods, which are challenging to deliver door-to-door by mass transit. I reiterate my view that it is necessary to develop the road system and the mass transit system together rather than emphasise the road system. Only by making the two modes of transport work together can we achieve the effect of one plus one.