one of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

More countries report longer life expectancy that are the result of the good health systems. Although this sounds an improvement for economies, it has some drawbacks, where more care is needed to meet the increasing number of elderly that will live in the upcoming years. Living longers is an indicator of the improved standard of living in countries and is seen to be an advantage. Nations with longer years of living get higher positions in global indices. This means better positions globally. Despite of that, living longer means more challenges to the health system, and an increasing pressure on economies. This is because not all families have the resources to assist elderly at home, who usually need alot of health attention. Governments will be expected to provide shelters for elderly and all the services they require. Moreover, pensions will be required. In conclusion, although living longer means an improved standard of living, governments should be prepared to provide the essential needs to this group.