At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the numbers of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

While many countries are experiencing an ageing population due to the longer lifespans nowadays, some countries have a larger younger generation than the elderly. Both the elderly and adolescents are valuable assets to the society and I believe the benefits of having larger young generations than the elderly could overcome the disadvantages in two main aspects. Firstly, in terms of the labour force, it is always good to have younger generation than the older one provided that the former could receive proper education. The adolescents could take up more diverse jobs because of their higher adaptivity, creativity as well as energy level. Blue-collar work like cleansing, construction and infrastructure could be hard and difficult for the elderly. The insurance for them to get these types of jobs would also be higher, making them difficult to be employed, Someone may argue that inadequate life experiences in adolescents hinder them from handling more mature jobs. However, features of the young adults will be their highly adaptive and fast learning characters, making them easy to catch up. However, the weakening of energy level and body in the elderly due to ageing can never be overcome. Secondly, public health and welfare expenses would be higher in cities with densely populated elderly. Their body will have more conditions when age including various chronic diseases and more regular check-ups as well as community support are needed. These would step up a city’s burden on the medical and welfare expenses. The ageing population has been a headache in many countries regarding how to handle the paramount public health services. However, the elderly is always a symbol of wisdom. They share experiences and insights which can never be realised by the youngsters with their lack of adversities and hardships which the older people have overcome. Therefore, their words and experiences are always inspiring and beneficial to the young generation. Less sharing with less elderly is definitely a disadvantage of having overwhelming young population. Nevertheless, there is only fewer elderly instead of no, we can surely still be accessible to their advices through our friends, colleagues or social media. To sum up, although there are some drawbacks with less populated elderly in a society, in the long run, in terms of the labour supply and public health and wealth expenses, the pros outweigh the cons, but only if the society can provide enough education to the adolescents.