"In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion."

People have different views about the priority of developing local transport in most countries of the world. While improving the existing public transport is necessary for the traffic convenience to residents. However, I firmly believe that the investment in high-speed trains construction between cities has economic significance to a country. On the one hand, excellent daily communication is the dynamic of a city, which brings high efficiency, putting the difference into attracting industry and jobs and creating a better place to live. Therefore, keeping maintain and improve the existing public transport is essential works to local government. For instance, visiting London from time to time, you will find that the local streets are constantly under repair works, either to extend the width of the road or to pave its surface. Those works are conducive to keeping this old age city modern and energetic. As a result, it is more welcome as it is perceived the investment directly with ease. On the other hand, with looking into the development of a country or an area, hardly can the government ignore the proportion of the economic contributions of different cities, maximising the interaction between them to archive the overall increase. The best way to fulfil this purpose is to invest in the high-speed railway. For example, the existence of the faster train between Tianjin and Beijing offers only 30 minutes trips instead of two hours, resulting in the lower cost to many small scale production businesses relocated to Tianjin and supporting the economic increase in Tianjin in the meantime. Consequently, it is a more comprehensive strategy for the long-term vision of development. In conclusion, I believe that both are vital for the city development, the former stands for immediate and local benefits and the latter represent more extensive and future interest. Hence, in my opinion, the latter one shall be the priority to be invested.