Young people spend less of their free time with their family nowadays. What at the reasons for this? Are there more negative or postive sides to it?

The youth of today has much more freedom of choice than ever before. It has been noticed that when they are not working some are studying and seeing their families less. In this essay, I will discuss the causes for this and why it has more disadvantages than positives. To begin with, a lot of teenagers and those in their early twenties have to work to help support their families. In a recent study in Indonesia, it has been noticed that a lot of teenagers have been asked by their family to work after school or over the weekend due to the increase in the cost of living. They are asked to help support their family financially. Although the much-needed funds are necessary it is depriving the families of spending time together. Another aspect is that a lot of young people are under a lot of pressure these days to do well in their studies and careers. Some are compelled to spend their leisure time studying so that they will get accepted into the best universities or colleges, and those who are already working are under pressure to further keep on improving themselves so that they can be favourable for a promotion at work or just keep their current job. Again, they are losing precious family time which they can not regain. In conclusion, our youth is under much more pressure than in the past as they are either working or studying. Even though it is a sad reality it is important to remember that once the time with family has passed it can not be regained.